Joint climate change adaptation committee Terms of Reference

August 2020

Background

Climate change poses significant risks to the environment and people of Te Taitokerau - local government has responsibilities in reducing the impact of climate change (adaptation). It is essential that councils, communities and iwi / hapū work collaboratively to ensure an effective, efficient and equitable response to the impacts of climate change. Work on adaptation has already started between council staff with the formation of the joint staff working group Climate Adaptation Te Taitokerau and the development of a Climate Change Adaptation Strategy for Taitokerau. The formation of a joint standing committee of the Far North, Kaipara and Whangarei district councils and Northland Regional Council elected council members and iwi / hapū is fundamental to ensuring these outcomes are achieved in a coordinated and collaborative way across Te Taitokerau.

Role and Responsibilities

- 1) Provide direction and oversight of the development and implementation of climate change adaptation activities by local government in Te Taitokerau
- 2) Receive advice and provide direction and support to Climate Adaptation Te Taitokerau
- 3) Make recommendations to member councils to ensure a consistent regional approach is adopted to climate change adaptation activities
- 4) Act collectively as an advocate for climate change adaptation generally and within the individual bodies represented on the Committee
- 5) Ensure the bodies represented on the Committee are adequately informed of adaptation activity in Te Taitokerau and the rationale for these activities
- 6) Ensure the importance of and the rationale for climate change adaptation is communicated consistently within Te Taitokerau
- 7) Receive progress reports from Climate Adaptation Te Taitokerau

Membership

The Joint Climate Change Adaptation Committee (the committee) is a standing committee made up of elected members from the Far North, Kaipara and Whangarei district councils, the Northland Regional Council and representatives from Northland hapū and iwi.

The committee shall have eight members as follows:

One elected member from: Kaipara District Council

Far North District Council Whangarei District Council Northland Regional Council

lwi / hapū members: One representative from iwi / hapū nominated by each

council from within their jurisdiction. Where possible, this nomination should follow recommendations from

council Māori advisory groups or committees.

Each council shall also nominate one alternative elected member and one alternative iwi / hapū member who will have full speaking and voting rights when formally acting as the alternate.

Status

The Committee is a joint standing committee of council as provided for under Clause 30(1)(b) of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 and shall operate in accordance with the provisions of Clause 30A of that Act. The committee is an advisory body only and has no powers under the Local Government Act 2002 (or any other Act) other than those delegated by decision of all member councils. The joint standing committee shall operate under Northland Regional Council Standing Orders.

Committee Chair and deputy Chair:

The Chair and Deputy Chair is to be elected from members at the first meeting of the committee.

Quorum

At least 50% of members shall be present to form a quorum.

Meetings

The Committee shall meet a minimum of two times per annum.

Service of meetings:

The Northland Regional Council will provide secretarial and administrative support to the joint committee.

Draft agendas are to be prepared by Climate Adaptation Te Taitokerau and approved by the Chair of the Committee prior to the Committee meeting.

Remuneration

Remuneration and / or reimbursement for costs incurred by council members is the responsibility of each council.

Respective iwi / hapū representatives will be remunerated and reimbursed by the nominating council in accordance with the non-elected members remuneration policy of that council.

Amendments

Any amendment to the Terms of Reference or other arrangements of the Committee shall be subject to approval by all member councils.