MINUTES OF FAR NORTH DISTRICT COUNCIL EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE VIRTUALLY VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS ON THURSDAY, 21 OCTOBER 2021 AT 1.00 PM

PRESENT: Mayor John Carter (HWTM), Deputy Mayor Ann Court, Cr David Clendon, Cr

Dave Collard, Cr Felicity Foy, Cr Mate Radich, Cr Rachel Smith, Cr Kelly

Stratford, Cr Moko Tepania, Cr John Vuicich

IN ATTENDANCE: Mike Edmonds (Member), Adele Gardner (Te Hiku Community Board

Chairperson), Belinda Ward (Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board), Dale Ofsoske (Electoral Officer), William J Taylor, MBE (Chief Executive Officer, Acting), Dean Myburgh (General Manager District Services), Andy Finch (General Manager Infrastructure and Asset Management), Darren

Edwards (General Manager Strategic Planning and Policy)

1 KARAKIA TIMATANGA / OPENING PRAYER

His Worship the Mayor commenced the meeting with a prayer.

2 NGĀ WHAKAPĀHA ME NGĀ PĀNGA MEMA / APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil

3 NGĀ TONO KŌRERO / DEPUTATION

Nil4

4 NGĀ KŌRERO A TE KOROMATUA / MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

Nil

5 REPORTS

5.1 REPRESENTATION REVIEW 2021 - DELIBERATION ON SUBMISSIONS

Agenda item 5.1 document number A3413095, pages 12 - 46 refers.

RESOLUTION 2021/52

Moved: Mayor John Carter Seconded: Deputy Mayor Ann Court

That Council:

- a) note the 129 valid submissions received on the Representation Review Initial Proposal for the 2022 triennial local government elections;
- b) in deliberating on submissions relating to the Representation Review Initial Proposal for the 2022 triennial local government elections makes the following amendments to its initial proposal:

In Favour: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity

Foy, Mate Radich, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Against: Nil

CARRIED

4.1 ONE GENERAL WARD AND ONE MĀORI WARD WITH AT LARGE VOTING

MOTION

Moved: Cr Moko Tepania

Seconded: Deputy Mayor Ann Court

That Council amend the initial proposal to establish one general ward and one Māori ward for the

2022 Election.

<u>In Favour:</u> Deputy Mayor Ann Court, Rachel Smith and Moko Tepania

Against: Mayor John Carter, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity Foy, Mate Radich, Kelly

Stratford and John Vujcich

LOST 3/7

MOTION

Moved: Cr Felicity Foy Seconded: Cr Dave Collard

That Council amend the initial proposal to establish 3 Māori wards, following the general ward

boundaries.

In Favour: Dave Collard and Felicity Foy

Against: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Rachel Smith, Kelly

Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Abstained: Mate Radich

LOST 2/7

3.15 DO YOU AGREE WITH COUNCIL'S PROPOSAL TO INCREASE THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS FROM NINE TO TEN?

MOTION

Moved: Cr Mate Radich Seconded: Cr Kelly Stratford

That Council amend the initial proposal to 12 councillors:

i. 8 Generalii. 4 Māori

In Favour: Dave Collard, Mate Radich and Kelly Stratford

Against: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Felicity Foy, Rachel

Smith, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

LOST 3/7

MOTION

Moved: Deputy Mayor Ann Court

Seconded: Cr Moko Tepania

That Council amend the initial proposal to 14 councillors:

i. 9 Generalii. 5 Māori

In Favour: Deputy Mayor Ann Court

Against: Mayor John Carter, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity Foy, Mate Radich, Rachel

Smith, Kelly Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

LOST 1/9

MOTION

Moved: Cr Moko Tepania Seconded: Cr John Vujcich

That Council amend the initial proposal to 20 councillors:

i. 12 Generalii. 8 Māori

In Favour: Deputy Mayor Ann Court, Rachel Smith, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Against: Mayor John Carter, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity Foy, Mate Radich and

Kelly Stratford

LOST 4/6

MOTION

Moved: Cr Felicity Foy Seconded: Mayor John Carter

That Council amend the initial proposal to 9 councillors:

i. 6 Generalii. 3 Māori

In Favour: Dave Collard, Felicity Foy and Mate Radich

Against: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Rachel Smith, Kelly

Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

LOST 3/7

At 2:35 pm, Cr Mate Radich left the meeting.

At 2:41 pm, Cr David Clendon left the meeting due to technical difficulties.

3.1 DO YOU SUPPORT ALL OF AWANUI BEING INCLUDED IN THE WHATUWHIWHI SUBDIVISION?

MOTION

Moved: Cr Felicity Foy Seconded: Cr Dave Collard

That Council amend the initial proposal to move all of Awanui to North Cape subdivision.

In Favour: Dave Collard, Felicity Foy and John Vujcich

Against: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford and

Moko Tepania

LOST 3/5

At 2:44 pm, Cr David Clendon returned to the meeting.

3.7 DO YOU SUPPORT THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A NEW WAIPAPA SUBDIVISION WITHIN THE BAY OF ISLANDS-WHANGAROA WARD?

RESOLUTION 2021/53

Moved: Mayor John Carter Seconded: Cr Rachel Smith

That Council amend the initial proposal to adopt Option 1 - Alter Te Pēwhairangi-Whangaroa Community Board subdivision boundaries as follows:

a) Meshblocks 0044008 and 4010073 to be added to the Kerikeri Subdivision from the Waipapa Subdivision.

In Favour: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity

Foy, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Against: Nil

CARRIED

Deputy Mayor Ann Court declared conflict of interest on item 3.8 in the agenda.

3.10 DO YOU SUPPORT MAROMĀKŪ AND WAIOMIO MOVING TO THE RUSSELL-ŌPUA SUBDIVISION?

RESOLUTION 2021/54

Moved: Cr Kelly Stratford Seconded: Cr Rachel Smith

That Council amend the initial proposal to alter Te Pēwhairangi-Whangaroa Community Board subdivision boundaries as follows;

a) Meshblocks 0046100, 0046400, 0046700, 0046801, 0047801 to be added to the Kawakawa-Moerewa Subdivision from the Russell-Ōpua Subdivision.

to recognise Maromākū and Waiomio as communities of interest within the Kawakawa-Moerewa subdivision rather than the Russell-Ōpua subdivision and that Council note that it will be non-compliant with the +/- 10% rule but can be justified by not splitting communities of interest.

In Favour: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity

Foy, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Against: Nil

CARRIED

3.11 DO YOU SUPPORT RENAMING THE BAY OF ISLANDS-WHANGAROA WARD TO ITS MĀORI NAME, TE PĒWHAIRANGI-WHANGAROA?

RESOLUTION 2021/55

Moved: Cr Rachel Smith Seconded: Cr David Clendon

That Council amend the initial proposal and Te Pēwhairangi-Whangaroa be changed to Bay of Islands-Whangaroa (retain the existing ward name).

In Favour: Mayor John Carter, Deputy Mayor Ann Court, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity

Foy, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford and John Vujcich

Against: Moko Tepania

CARRIED

CHAIRPERSON

6 KARAKIA WHAKAMUTUNGA / CLOSING PRAYER

Cr Moko Tepania closed with a karakia.

7 MEETING CLOSE

The meeting closed at 3:15 pm.

The minutes 2021.	of this meetin	g will be confir	med at the Coun	ncil Meeting held	on 4 November