MINUTES OF FAR NORTH DISTRICT COUNCIL HOKIANGA SPRAYING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, 5 MEMORIAL AVENUE, KAIKOHE ON WEDNESDAY, 7 JULY 2021 AT 2:30 PM

PRESENT: Chair Mike Edmonds, Member Emma Davis, Member Louis Toorenburg,

Member Alan Hessell

IN ATTENDANCE: Gail Aiken (Community Representative), John Aiken (Community

Representative). Peter Reid (Community Representative), Lorene Royale

(Community Representative),

STAFF PRESENT: Aisha Huriwai (Team Leader - Democracy Services), Aram Goes

(Maintenance and Operations Manager), Apikali Rokobigi (Maintenance

Lead), Marlema Baker (Meeting Administrator).

1 KARAKIA TIMATANGA – OPENING PRAYER

Member Mike Edmonds declared the meeting open and Member Alan Hessell gave the karakia.

2 NGĀ WHAKAPĀHA ME NGĀ PĀNGA MEMA / APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Member John Vujcich gave apologies for this meeting. Member Emma Davis gave apologies for early departure.

3 SPEAKERS

Aram Goes and Apikali Rokobigi (Northland Transport Alliance)

4 REPORTS

4.1 APPOINTMENT OF HOKIANGA SPRAYING COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERSHIP

Agenda item 4.1 document number A3266853, pages 6 - 8 refers

MOTION

Moved: Member Mike Edmonds Seconded: Member Emma Davis

That the Hokianga Spraying Committee:

- a) appoint Mike Edmonds as Chairperson.
- b) confirms Community Board members Emma Davis, Alan Hessell, Louis Toorenburg and John Vujcich as members with speaking and voting rights.
- c) confirms Gail and John Aikin as community representatives with speaking and voting rights.

AMENDMENT

Moved: Member Mike Edmonds Seconded: Member Louis Toorenburg

d) and recommends to the Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board that Peter Reid and Lorene Royal also be included as additional Hokianga Spraying Committee community representatives.

The amendment became the substantive motion.

RESOLUTION 2021/1

Moved: CB Member Mike Edmonds Seconded: CB Member Emma Davis

That the Hokianga Spraying Committee:

- a) appoint Mike Edmonds as Chairperson.
- b) confirms Community Board members Emma Davis, Alan Hessell, Louis Toorenburg and John Vujcich as members with speaking and voting rights.
- c) confirms Gail and John Aikin as community representatives with speaking and voting rights.
- d) and recommends to the Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board that Peter Reid and Lorene Royal also be included as additional Hokianga Spraying Committee community representatives.

CARRIED

4.2 HOKIANGA SPRAYING COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

Agenda item 4.2 document number A3274303, pages 9 - 13 refers

RESOLUTION 2021/2

Moved: CB Member Mike Edmonds Seconded: CB Member Alan Hessell

That the Hokianga Spraying Committee receive the terms of reference with regard to the herbicide and spraying in and around Rawene and will:

- a) represent, and act as an advocate for, the interests of its community.
- b) consider and report on information provided and/or referred to it by the Far North District Council.
- c) prepare an annual submission to the Far North District Council for expenditure within the community; and
- d) communicate with interested parties within the community.

CARRIED

Member Emma Davis left the meeting at 3:10 pm

Note: Northland Transport Alliance representative Aram Goes spoke to the members and answered questions regarding Council's glyphosate spraying program.

4.3 HOKIANGA SPRAYING COMMITTEE CALENDAR OF MEETINGS 2021

Agenda item 4.3 document number A3266865, pages 14 - 15 refers

RESOLUTION 2021/3

Moved: CB Member Mike Edmonds Seconded: CB Member Alan Hessell

That the Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board:

- a) adopts the following bi-monthly meeting dates for the remaining 2021 calendar year:
 - September 1, 2021, 2:30 pm.
 - November 3, 2021. 2:30 pm.
- b) delegates the authority to amend the schedule of Hokianga Spraying Committee meetings, to the Hokianga Spraying Committee Chair.

CARRIED

5 KARAKIA WHAKAMUTUNGA – CLOSING PRAYER

MEMBER ALAN HESSELL CLOSED THE MEETING WITH A KARAKIA.

6 TE KAPINGA HUI / MEETING CLOSE

The meeting closed at 3:37 pm.

ne minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the Hoklanga Spraying Committee it eld on 1 September 2021.	leeting
CHAIRPI	ERSON