Ordinary Te Kuaka - Te Ao Māori Committee Meeting Minutes

3 October 2023


   MINUTES OF Far North District Council
Ordinary Te Kuaka - Te Ao Māori Committee Meeting
Held virtually via Microsoft TEAMs
Tuesday, 3 October 2023 AT 2:00 pm

PRESENT:              Chairperson Harry Burkhardt, Kōwhai – Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford, Cr Tāmati Rākena, Cr Ann Court, Cr Hilda Halkyard-Harawira, Cr Babe Kapa, Cr Mate Radich, Cr John Vujcich, Te Kahu o Taonui Representative

IN ATTENDANCE: Kawiti Waetford (Kaiwhakawhiti Reo Language Interpreter)

STAFF PRESENT: Guy Holroyd (Chief Executive Officer), Jacine Warmington (Group Manager - Strategic Relationships), Ruben Garcia (Group Manager - Community and Engagement), Roger Ackers (Group Manager - Planning and Policy), Tanya Proctor (Head of Infrastructure Strategy), Andrew McPhee (Principal Policy Planner), Imrie Dunn (Democracy Advisor), Fleur Beresford (Democracy Advisor), Jamie-Lee Pulham (Pouawhina Manukura - Strategic Relationships), Llani Harding (Pouhautu Te Hono - Manager Te Hono), Jude Campbell (Principal Advisor - Te Hono), Tammy Wooster (Manager- Integrated Planning)

1            Karakia Timatanga / Opening Prayer

Kawiti Waetford commenced the meeting with a prayer.

2            NGĀ KŌRERO A TE kahika / ANNOUNCEMENTS   

Kahika – Moko Tepania is in Belfast Ireland accepting the One Young World Leader of the Year award for politicians aged between 18-35. This award is for young politicians that have positive impacts on tamariki.

Deputy Chair announcements provided.

3            NGā WHAKAPāHA ME NGā PāNGA MEMA / Apologies and Declarations of Interest


Resolution  2023/10

Moved:       Cr Hilda Halkyard-Harawira

Seconded:  Cr Tāmati Rākena

That the apology received from Kahika – Moko Tepania, Cr Felicity Foy, Cr Penetaui Kleskovic and Mariameno Kapa-Kingi be accepted and leave of absence granted.


4            Te Whakaaetanga o Ngā Meneti o Mua / Confirmation of Previous Minutes

4.1         Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Agenda item 4.1 document number A4409740, pages 8 - 13 refers.

Resolution  2023/11

Moved:       Kōwhai – Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

Seconded:  Cr Hilda Halkyard-Harawira

That Te Kuaka – Te Ao Māori Committee confirm the minutes of the meeting held 7 September 2023 are true and correct.


5            Ngā Pūrongo / Reports

5.1         Proposed District Plan Hearing Panel and Delegated Authority

Agenda item 5.1 document number A4387241, pages 14 - 20 refers.


Moved:       Kōwhai – Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

Seconded:  Cr Ann Court

That Te Kuaka – Te Ao Māori Committee recommend that Council:

a)       rescind d) of resolution 2023/101 carried at the 24 August 2023 Council meeting and replace it with d) “confirm a Proposed District Plan hearing panel of:


i)          five independent panel members, including two with chairing endorsement and one with skills and expertise in matters relating to Te Tiriti O Waitangi/Treaty of Waitangi, Kaupapa Māori and Matauranga Māori; and

ii)         one optional Councillor panel member made up of either Deputy Mayor Stratford, Councillor Foy, Councillor Halkyard-Harawira or Councillor McNally where:

a) they are not conflicted; and

b) are accredited having done the making good decisions course.


b)      approve delegated authority for the Proposed District Plan hearings panel to make recommendations to Council.

Against:           Cr Ann Court and Mate Radich


NOTE: An external legal opinion in writing is requested before the 19 October Council meeting related to conflicts of interest for elected members.


6            Karakia Whakamutunga / Closing Prayer

Kawiti Waetford closed with a karakia.

7            Meeting Close

The meeting closed at 2:45 pm.

The minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the Ordinary Te Kuaka - Te Ao Māori Committee Meeting held on 1 November 2023.