Ordinary Council Meeting Minutes - Confirmed

27 October 2022


   MINUTES OF Far North District Council
Ordinary Council Meeting
MEMORIAL HALL, Memorial Ave, Kaikohe
Thursday, 27 October 2022 AT 10:00 am

Note this meeting venue differs from that advertised to accommodate a high number of public in attendance. The meeting took place in the adjacent building and staff were on hand to redirect anyone where necessary.

PRESENT:              Mayor Moko Tepania, Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford, Cr Ann Court, Cr Felicity Foy, Cr Elect Hilda Halkyard-Harawira, Cr Babe Kapa, Cr Penetaui Kleskovic, Cr Steve McNally, Cr Elect Mate Radich (via Microsoft Teams), Cr Tāmati Rākena, Cr John Vujcich.

IN ATTENDANCE: Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board Chairperson Chicky Rudkin, Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board Chairperson Belinda Ward, Te Hiku Community Board Chairperson Adele Gardner, Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board Member Amy Slack, Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board Member Roddy Pihema, Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board Member Tyler Bamber, Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board Member Trinity Edwards, Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board Member Harmonie Gundry, Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board Deputy Chairperson Tanya Filia, Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board Member Jessie McVeagh.

STAFF PRESENT: Blair King (Chief Executive Officer), Andy Finch (General Manager Infrastructure & Asset Management), Janice Smith (Acting General Manager Corporate Services), Jacine Warmington (Acting General Manager District Services), Roger Ackers (Acting General Manager Strategic Planning & Policy)Aisha Huriwai (Team Leader – Democracy Services), Jill Coyle (Chief People Officer), Casey Gannon (Project Manager – Democracy Services), Melissa Wood (Community Board Coordinator), Mori Rapana (Kaiarahi – Kaupapa Māori), Marlema Baker (Democracy Advisor).

1            Karakia Timatanga / Opening Prayer

The meeting commenced with a mihi whakatau before handing over to Chief Executive Officer, Blair King to commence the formal proceedings.


2.1         Making and Attesting of Declarations

Agenda item 5.1 document number A3915623, pages 6 - 6 refers.

Chief Executive Officer, Blair King witnessed the declaration for Mayor Moko Tepania.

Mayor Moko Tepania witnessed the declarations for;

·         Councillor Kelly Stratford

·         Councillor Ann Court

·         Councillor Felicity Foy

·         Councillor Babe Kapa

·         Councillor Penetaui Kleskovic

·         Councillor Steve McNally

·         Councillor Tāmati Rākena

·         Councillor John Vujcich



·         Councillor Elect Hilda Halkyard-Harawira recited a declaration that was not legally valid.

·         Councillor Elect Mate Radich was unable to recite and sign his declaration virtually.

Mayor Tepania adjourned the meeting at 11:40am to reconvene in the Council Chamber from 12:13pm.

Councillor Elect Mate Radich left the meeting at 11:40am.

3.0         reports

3.1         Appointment of Deputy Mayor

Agenda item 5.2 document number A3915682, pages 7 - 7 refers.

Resolution  2022/56

Moved:       Cr Babe Kapa

Seconded:  Cr Tāmati Rākena

That Council note the Mayor’s appointment of Kelly Stratford as the Deputy Mayor.


Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting.


3.2         Appointment of Ward Councillors to Community Boards

Agenda item 5.3 document number A3915693, pages 8 - 10 refers.

Resolution  2022/58

Moved:       Mayor Moko Tepania

Seconded:  Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

That the Council:

a)         Appoints Cr Ann Court as a member the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board.

Abstained:       Cr Ann Court


Resolution  2022/59

Moved:       Mayor Moko Tepania

Seconded:  Cr John Vujcich

b)        Appoints John Vujcich as a member of the Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board

Abstained:       Cr John Vujcich


Resolution  2022/60

Moved:       Mayor Moko Tepania

Seconded:  Cr Elect Hilda Halkyard-Harawira

c)         Appoints Cr Felicity Foy as a member of the Te Hiku Community Board.

Abstained:       Cr Felicity Foy



3.3         Standing Orders

Agenda item 5.4 document number A3915900, pages 11 - 12 refers.


Moved:       Cr Babe Kapa

Seconded:  Cr Felicity Foy

That Council note the Far North District Council Standing Orders.


Moved:       Cr John Vujcich

Seconded:  Cr Kelly Stratford

That Standing Orders be amended to remove the section regarding the Chair/Mayor casting vote

Resolution  2022/61

Moved:       Cr Ann Court

Seconded:  Cr Steve McNally

That this item be left to lie and that the views of the Community Board Chairs be sought.


Cr Ann Court declared she membership on the Standing Orders Review Panel


3.4         Elected Members Code of Conduct

Agenda item 5.5 document number A3915864, pages 13 - 15 refers.

Resolution  2022/62

Moved:       Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

Seconded:  Cr Steve McNally

That Council adopt the Far North District Council’s current Elected Members’ Code of Conduct.



3.5         Adoption of Far North District Council's Formal Meeting Schedule November to December 2022

Agenda item 5.6 document number A3942640, pages 16 - 18 refers.

Resolution  2022/63

Moved:       Cr Ann Court

Seconded:  Cr John Vujcich

That Council note the formal Council meetings calendar for the remainder of the 2022 calendar year:

       Ordinary Council Meeting                     10 November 2022      10.00 am

       Ordinary Council Meeting                     15 December 2022      10.00 am


4            Information Reports

4.1         Explanation of Laws Affecting Elected Members

Agenda item 6.1 document number A3915640, pages 19 - 19 refers.

Resolution  2022/64

Moved:       Cr Penetaui Kleskovic

Seconded:  Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

That Council note the report “Explanation of Laws Affecting Elected Members”, and the advice provided at this meeting.


5            NGā WHAKAPāHA ME NGā PāNGA MEMA / Apologies and Declarations of Interest


Resolution  2022/56

Moved:    Mayor Moko Tepania

Seconded:      Deputy Mayor Kelly Stratford

That the apology received from Cr Mate Radich be accepted and leave of absence granted.


6            ngā tono kōrero / Deputation

There are no deputations for this inaugural Council meeting.


·         Acknowledge tomorrow as the national day to commemorate the signing of He Whakaputanga o Nu Tireni – The New Zealand Declaration of Independence, and Te Pūtake o te Riri, He Rā Maumahara – commemoration of New Zealand Wars and Conflicts.

·         The Black Ferns are playing in Whangarei this Saturday 29th October.

8            Karakia Whakamutunga / Closing Prayer

Cr Babe Kapa closed the meeting with a karakia

9            Meeting Close

The meeting closed at 1:08 pm.


The minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting held on 10 November 2022.