Emergency Council Meeting Minutes

14 September 2021


   MINUTES OF Far North District Council
Emergency Council Meeting
held virtually via Microsoft TEAMs
Tuesday, 14 September 2021 AT 1.00 pm


PRESENT:              Mayor John Carter (HWTM), Cr Ann Court, Cr David Clendon, Cr Dave Collard, Cr Felicity Foy, Cr Mate Radich, Cr Rachel Smith, Cr Kelly Stratford, Cr Moko Tepania, Cr John Vujcich

IN ATTENDANCE: Mike Edmonds (Member), Adele Gardner (Te Hiku Community Board Chairperson), Belinda Ward (Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board)

STAFF PRESENT: Shaun Clarke (Chief Executive Officer), William J Taylor, MBE (General Manager Corporate Services), Dean Myburgh (General Manager District Services), Andy Finch (General Manager Infrastructure and Asset Management), Darren Edwards (General Manager Strategic Planning and Policy)

1            Karakia Timatanga / Opening Prayer

His Worship the Mayor commenced the meeting and Cr Smith opened with a prayer.

2            NGā WHAKAPāHA ME NGā PāNGA MEMA / Apologies and Declarations of Interest


3            ngā tono kōrero / Deputation




5            Ngā Ripoata / Reports

5.1         Kerikeri Water Billing Under COVID-19 Alert Level 4 Shutdown

Agenda item 5.1 document number A3373028, pages 12 - 14 refers

Resolution  2021/51

Moved:       Mayor John Carter

Seconded:  Cr Rachel Smith

That Council:

a)      approve not invoicing Kerikeri water customers in September 2021.

b)      approve the issue of one invoice only in March 2022.

c)      approve staff working with consumers on payment plans to alleviate the impact of only invoicing once in 2021/2022.

In Favour:       Crs John Carter, Ann Court, David Clendon, Dave Collard, Felicity Foy, Mate Radich, Rachel Smith, Kelly Stratford, Moko Tepania and John Vujcich

Against:           Nil


6            Karakia Whakamutunga / Closing Prayer

Chief Executive Shaun Clarke closed the meeting with a karakia.

7            Meeting Close

The meeting closed at 1:14 pm.


The minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the  Council Meeting held on 27 October 2021.